Bracewell London: A Leader in Energy

A Leader in Energy

We Know Energy®

6 London Partners Ranked Chambers UK (2020) 9 London Partners Ranked IFLR1000 (2020) 10 London partners recommended Legal 500 UK (2020)

“Bracewell is a high-calibre firm with lawyers who have their finger on the pulse and react to the clientsʼ needs.” Chambers UK (2020)

“Strong expertise in the energy sector.” Legal 500 UK (2020)

Nina Howell

Eimear Murphy

A Leader in Energy As we celebrate the sixth anniversary of our all-energy London team, we would like to take this opportunity to thank our Bracewell clients and friends with whom we have worked during 2019. Transactional and disputes activity has remained strong throughout 2019 and our clients have been active across the globe. Africa remains a rich hunting ground for our clients, from frontier explorers to oil majors; the changing of the guard has continued in the North Sea, supported by private equity sponsors and an active debt market; and elsewhere there has been both new and sustained activity including in Mexico, the Kurdistan Region of Iraq and the Middle East. We have welcomed more new partners to our London o ice. In 2019, Nina Howell joined our all-energy team, bringing with her over 20 years of experience advising energy companies on projects and corporate transactions around the world and a particular specialism in the LNG sector. Consistently recognised by both Chambers UK and Legal 500 UK, clients describe Nina as a “joy to work with and a very good lawyer” and add that she is “exceptionally knowledgeable and experienced” in energy and natural resource matters. With natural gas and LNG becoming an increasingly important component of the global energy mix, we are very pleased that Nina has brought her expertise to our team. We are also delighted to announce the promotion of Eimear Murphy to our partnership. Eimear joined Bracewell in 2015 and advises clients on reserve based lending transactions across the globe. Earlier this year, Eimear was recognised by The Legal 500 UK 2020 as a ‘Rising Star’ in Finance – Emerging Markets and a key lawyer for Bank Lending: Investment Grade Debt and Syndicated Loans. Eimear is an important member of our already well established oil and gas finance team.

Selection of 2019 Matters

• Anglo Pacific Group acquisition of a royalty in relation to copper produced from the Mantos Blanco mine in Chile • Anglo Tunisian Oil & Gas acquisition of Medco Tunisia, a seven asset upstream oil and gas business in Tunisia, including the associated acquisition financing with Trafigura • Anadarko multiple aspects of the multi-train $15 billion+ Mozambique LNG export project, including on the complex unitization of straddling reservoirs and the development of common facilities • Apache Corporation sale of multiple UK North Sea upstream oil and gas assets to Chrysaor Limited • Aqua Ventures International English High Court proceedings concerning a payment dispute arising from the share sale of a company that owns and operates a biomass plant • Assala Energy refinancing of its $500 million reserve-based financing supported by its assets in Gabon • Chevron, Eni, Ophir Energy and Premier Oil multiple upstream oil and gas transactions in Mexico involving both exploration and development assets • Delfin LNG development of its floating LNG project in the Gulf of Mexico • Eland Oil and Gas refinancing of its Nigerian reserve based facility • FRV project financing of a 55 megawatt solar project in Armenia • Genel Energy acquisition of interests in the Chevron-operated Sarta and Qara Dagh blocks in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq • German LNG development and operation of the first large-scale LNG import terminal in Germany, to be located near Hamburg

• HKN Energy (part of the Perot Group) operatorship of the Sarsang field in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq • Independent oil and gas company ongoing international arbitration under the LCIA Rules arising from a joint operating agreement dispute • Maurel & Prom acquisition of producing interests in Angola from Mitsubishi Corporation • Neptune Energy o ering of $300 million 6.625% senior notes due 2025 • New Age development and proposed project financing of the Etinde gas export project in Cameroon • ONE-Dyas advising ING Bank N.V. and other lenders on a $900 million reserve-based financing (supported by oil and gas assets in the UK, Norway, the Netherlands and Gabon) • Premier Oil Sea Lion Development ongoing project financing of the Sea Lion o shore oil field development in the North Falkland basin • Qatar Solar IPP representing the Marubeni and Total Solar consortium in connection with the groundbreaking, first in country, 800 megawatt solar IPP PV Project in Qatar • Savannah Petroleum Plc takeover of the Seven Energy Nigerian business, including relating to the re-organisation of the Uquo onshore gas field and the Accugas gas processing facility • Seplat $350 million facility to fund the acquisition of Eland Oil and Gas • Svenska Petroleum sale of interests in the Sinapa and Esperança oil and gas licences, o shore Guinea Bissau, to CNOOC

Our London Team Partners

Jason Fox Managing Partner T: +44.(0).207.448.4206 E: jason.fox@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/jfox

Adam Blythe T: + 44.(0).207.448.4247 E: adam.blythe@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/blythe

Olivia Caddy T: +44.(0).207.448.4207 E: olivia.caddy@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/caddy

John Gilbert T: +44.(0).207.448.4296 E: john.gilbert@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/gilbert

Nina Howell T: +44.(0).207.448.4280 E: nina.howell@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/howell

Ben James T: + 44.(0).207.448.4208 E: ben.james@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/bjames

Oliver Irwin T: +44.(0).207.448.4228 E: oliver.irwin@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/irwin

Tracy London T: + 44.(0).207.448.4211 E: tracy.london@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/tlondon

Eimear Murphy T: + 44.(0).207.448.4236 E: eimear.murphy@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/murphy

Darren Spalding T: + 44.(0).207.448.4209 E: darren.spalding@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/dspalding

Alastair Young T: +44.(0).207.448.4205 E: alastair.young@bracewell.com • bracewell.com/young

TEXAS | NEW YORK | WASHINGTON, DC | CONNECTICUT | SEATTLE | DUBAI | LONDON bracewell.com

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online